# Modern Shed vs Studio Shed (Studio Home): Specs and Real Cost

Modern Shed vs Studio Shed, now Studio Home: published framing, insulation, warranty, lead time, deposit and install terms, and where the pages conflict.

- Canonical: [https://backyardoffice.guide/guides/modern-shed-vs-studio-home](https://backyardoffice.guide/guides/modern-shed-vs-studio-home)
- Markdown: [https://backyardoffice.guide/guides/modern-shed-vs-studio-home.md](https://backyardoffice.guide/guides/modern-shed-vs-studio-home.md)
- Published: 2026-10-30
- Updated: 2026-10-30
- Author: Backyard Office Guide Editorial Team

## Quick answer

As of October 30, 2026, Studio Home (formerly Studio Shed) publishes shell prices, a 1-year warranty and a 4-6 week unpermitted turnaround. Modern Shed publishes no prices and no warranty, quotes expire in 14 days, and its own pages disagree on whether it has install crews. Choose Studio Home to price the project from a public number. Choose Modern Shed only if you want a custom quote and can get the warranty and installer scope in writing.

Studio Shed is now called Studio Home, so "Modern Shed vs Studio Shed" is a comparison of two panelized studio makers. Neither sells a finished project. Both leave foundation, electrical, HVAC and permits outside the first number.

The difference is how much of the decision you can make before a sales conversation. Studio Home publishes a price per size. Modern Shed publishes specifications but not a price, a warranty term or a lead time for permitted work.

## Quick answer

- **Choose Studio Home** if you want to put a published number in a budget today, compare sizes, and decide between DIY assembly and professional installation.
- **Choose Modern Shed** if you want a custom-fitted building, accept a quote-only process, and will get warranty terms and installer responsibility written into the proposal.
- **Choose neither on spec sheets alone.** Several numbers below are manufacturer claims, and some conflict between pages of the same company.

## Methodology

We compared only what each company publishes on its own pages, fetched on **October 30, 2026**: Modern Shed's [FAQ](https://modern-shed.com/faq) and [home office page](https://modern-shed.com/uses-homeoffice), and Studio Home's [Signature product page](https://www.studio-home.com/products/signature) and [FAQ](https://www.studio-home.com/pages/frequently-asked-questions). Neither company's page carries a "last updated" date, so the check date is ours. We did not tour a factory, receive a quote, buy a unit or test a building. Every spec below is a **manufacturer claim** unless marked otherwise. Price context for Studio Home comes from our [Studio Home vs Autonomous comparison](/guides/studio-shed-vs-autonomous-workpod).

## Published spec and terms comparison

| Decision line | Modern Shed | Studio Home (Signature) |
|---|---|---|
| Public price | None. Each unit is custom priced, quote valid 14 days | Shell from $15,136 (8x10). Page lists "$17,702+ installation" for its smallest size, and elsewhere "around $14K plus assembly" |
| Wall framing | "Minimum of 16" on center" | "2 x 4 framing and Zip System weatherproof wall panels", spacing not stated |
| Roof and floor framing | Roof 15" on center, floor 12" on center | Roof: tapered rafters, 1/2" plywood decking, 26-gauge Galvalume roofing. Floor not described |
| Insulation as published | FAQ: walls R13, R15 or R21, floor R21, roof R38. Home office page: up to R27 walls, R30 floor, R60 roof | R-15 wall and R-21 roof, Finished Interior Package only. Floor R-value not stated |
| Siding | James Hardie, cedar or NuRay metal | HardiePanel fiber cement, with metal wainscot and cedar options |
| Foundation | Typically oversized pier blocks, slab optional | "Standard foundation attachment hardware included", foundation type not stated |
| Warranty | None published | 1 year on material defects and workmanship, plus separate door, window and roofing manufacturer warranties |
| Lead time, unpermitted | 2-6 weeks fabrication, longer for custom windows or doors | 4-6 weeks from order date |
| Lead time, permitted | 9-20+ months minimum for ADU/DADU, fabrication alone 6-16 weeks | Longer, no range given, depends on the building department. Plans typically 3-4 weeks, then about 4 weeks to ship after permit approval |
| Payment terms | 50% down after design approval | Unpermitted: full payment at order. Permitted: 50% deposit, balance due 4 weeks before ship date |
| Installation | FAQ: "does NOT employ installers". Home office page: "professional installation crews" | Third-party installers, DIY with training, or your own contractor |
| Interior | Insulated on all six sides, pre-framed electrical chases | Drywall interior only with professional installation or the Finished Interior Package |
| Shipping | Not stated on the pages checked | All 50 states, Hawaii and Caribbean by special quote |

## Where the pages disagree with themselves

These are the findings you will not get from a roundup, and they are the questions to put in writing.

1. **Modern Shed's install story conflicts.** Its FAQ says it does not employ installers and you may use your own. Its home office page says it has professional installation crews and describes a process where "installation is done by the company's installation crews." Ask who holds the install contract, who is liable for it, and whether the warranty survives a third-party installer.
2. **Modern Shed's insulation range differs by page.** The FAQ lists R13 to R21 walls and an R38 standard roof. The home office page lists options up to R27 walls and R60 roof. These may be standard versus upgrade tiers, but neither page says so. Your proposal should state the R-value per surface. Our [insulation guide](/guides/backyard-office-insulation-guide) explains what to check.
3. **Studio Home's smallest-size price is stated two ways.** The Signature page lists "$17,702+ installation" and also "around $14K plus assembly and site work." The page does not reconcile the two.
4. **Studio Home's "$100-140/sf" starting figure does not match its own shell prices.** The FAQ gives it for the base kit, excluding site work and permits. The 8x10 shell at $15,136 works out to $189 per sq ft. We treat the per-square-foot figure as unreliable for budgeting.

## What each company's price does not include

Neither company's number covers the items that decide the finished cost. The [real cost guide](/guides/real-cost-of-a-backyard-office-pod) prices each line with dates and sources.

- **Foundation.** Modern Shed says typical installs sit on oversized pier blocks. Studio Home says site work is extra and does not state a required foundation type. See the [foundation guide](/guides/backyard-office-foundation-guide).
- **Electrical.** Modern Shed describes a trench from your main panel by a licensed electrician. Studio Home leaves electrical to the install scope you choose. See the [electrical guide](/guides/backyard-office-electrical-guide).
- **HVAC.** Modern Shed names a ductless mini-split as an option. Studio Home does not include HVAC. See the [mini-split guide](/guides/backyard-office-mini-split-guide).
- **Delivery and crane.** Neither page states access limits. Check them with the [delivery access guide](/guides/backyard-office-delivery-access-guide).
- **Permits.** Modern Shed says it helps with local permitting. Studio Home sells permit-ready plans. Neither pays the fee or promises approval.

## Payment terms matter more than the sticker

Studio Home's unpermitted orders require full payment at the time of order. That is the highest-exposure term in this comparison, and several states cap residential deposits. Read the state table in the [proposal checklist](/guides/backyard-office-proposal-checklist) before paying. Modern Shed's 50% down payment after design approval is also large, and its 14-day quote expiry compresses the time you have to compare.

## Best for and avoid if

| Buyer situation | Better starting lane | Avoid if |
|---|---|---|
| Wants a published number before any sales call | Studio Home | You cannot pay in full at order for an unpermitted unit |
| Wants custom window placement and finish choices | Modern Shed | You need a warranty term before you sign |
| Plans to DIY assembly | Studio Home, which offers training and DIY | You do not have a helper and a level site |
| Needs one party accountable for install | Neither until the proposal names it | The proposal says "installer by owner" with no scope |
| Pursuing a permitted ADU | Neither without a local contractor | You expect a timeline shorter than Modern Shed's stated 9-20+ months |
| Comparing against a fixed pod | See [Studio Home vs Autonomous](/guides/studio-shed-vs-autonomous-workpod) | You only need the cheapest shell, see [office sheds](/guides/backyard-office-sheds) |

## What we could not verify

- **Any Modern Shed price.** None is published, so no cost comparison is possible between the two without a quote. We did not request one.
- **Any Modern Shed warranty term.** The FAQ makes a durability claim, which is not a warranty.
- **Whether Studio Home's installed price includes the interior package.** Its FAQ describes a finished drywall interior, while the Signature page prices the interior as a separate package. See the matching note in our [Studio Home vs Autonomous guide](/guides/studio-shed-vs-autonomous-workpod).
- **Independent build-quality evidence for either company.** We found no independent head-to-head review. All construction data above is from the companies.
- **Company health beyond their own pages.** For status checks on both, use the [company health check](/guides/office-pod-company-health-check). Modern Shed's site has also shown a placeholder phone number, so confirm a live sales contact.
- **Studio Home's wall stud spacing.** Its page says 2x4 framing but not spacing, so we cannot compare it with Modern Shed's 16-inch claim.
- **Code compliance.** Modern Shed says units are built "to base IBC or better." We did not verify that, and local adoption and inspection rules vary.

**Last updated:** October 30, 2026.

## Buyer verdict

### Is Studio Shed the same company as Studio Home?

Yes. Studio Shed rebranded as Studio Home in March 2025 according to the company announcement linked below. Pages and buyers still use the old name.

### Which is cheaper, Modern Shed or Studio Home?

Only Studio Home publishes prices, so a verified comparison is not possible. Modern Shed's own FAQ says ancillary costs for shipping, groundwork, installation and electrical are estimated separately. Request an itemized quote from each, and use the worksheet in the [Studio Home vs Autonomous guide](/guides/studio-shed-vs-autonomous-workpod).

### Which has the better warranty?

Studio Home publishes a 1-year warranty on defects and workmanship. Modern Shed publishes none. Get Modern Shed's in writing, including who services a unit built by a third-party installer.

### Do either of them install?

Studio Home uses third-party installers, or you can DIY or hire your own. Modern Shed's two pages disagree, so the answer is whatever the signed proposal says.

## Sources

Vendor pages were fetched on October 30, 2026. Company claims are treated as manufacturer claims, not verified performance.

- [Modern Shed: FAQ](https://modern-shed.com/faq)
- [Modern Shed: home office use](https://modern-shed.com/uses-homeoffice)
- [Studio Home: Signature product page](https://www.studio-home.com/products/signature)
- [Studio Home: frequently asked questions](https://www.studio-home.com/pages/frequently-asked-questions)
- [Studio Home rebrand announcement](https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/studio-shed-unveils-a-new-era-as-studiohome-302391282.html)
